Native Awards Push 2021 Oscar Contenders, from SFFILM to the Hamptons


On this unusual awards 12 months, digital movie festivals and awards exhibits are one technique to construct awards buzz.

Throughout this strangest of award seasons, the extra issues change, the extra they keep the identical. Yearly, a drumbeat of native awards builds to Oscar evening, which in 2021 will unfold two months late, on April 25, 2021. The fantastic thing about these digital festivals, relying on their entry, is all it’s a must to do to look at a few of these occasions is purchase a ticket. Ubiquitous award-winner Aaron Sorkin, for instance, is my thought of an excellent time.

From San Francisco’s SFFILM Awards evening to latest awards in Mill Valley and the Hamptons, it’s clear who most of the Oscar gamers are this 12 months. SFFILM introduced Tuesday that two lauded auteurs, Sorkin (Netflix pickup “The Trial of the Chicago 7”) and Chloé Zhao (Searchlight’s “Nomadland”) will settle for (digital) awards on December 9.

SFFILM at all times mounts a glittery dinner gala to raise funds for the year-round movie group’s help of rising movie artists, however this 12 months will pivot to a live-streamed showcase. Sorkin will settle for the Kanbar Award for Storytelling, whereas Zhao will obtain the Irving M. Levin Award for Movie Route. The recipients of the SFFILM Award for Performing and extra honors can be introduced in coming weeks.

“The Trial of the Chicago 7” scored big on Netflix on October 16 after three weeks in theaters, even with out fall pageant fanfare (Netflix eschewed sending movies to festivals this 12 months). Sorkin’s 1968 drama has emerged as a frontrunner within the awards race, boasting a wealthy ensemble of actors led by Sacha Baron Cohen, Eddie Redmayne, and Mark Rylance who’re more likely to rating with each SAG and Academy voters. Oscar-winner Sorkin (“The Social Community”) has additionally made his mark in theater (“A Few Good Males,” “To Kill A Mockingbird”) in addition to tv (Emmy-winning “The West Wing” and “The Newsroom”).


Previous winners of the Kanbar Award embody Lulu Wang (2019), Boots Riley (2018), Emily V. Gordon and Kumail Nanjiani (2017), Tom McCarthy (2016), Paul Schrader (2015), Stephen Gaghan (2014), Eric Roth (2013), David Webb Peoples (2012), Frank Pierson (2011), and James Schamus (2010).

Accepting the Irving M. Levin Award for Movie Route, Beijing-born Zhao broke out together with her second function movie, “The Rider” (Sony Photos Classics), which performed Cannes’ Administrators Fortnight in 2017, and gained Greatest Movie on the 2018 Gotham Awards. Zhao went on to shoot not solely “Nomadland” with producer-star Frances McDormand as a lonely widow pressured onto the American highway, however Marvel’s upcoming “Eternals” (2021). “Nomadland” gained the Golden Lion on the Venice Movie Competition in September in addition to the Toronto Worldwide Movie Competition’s coveted Individuals’s Alternative award.

Previous recipients embody Marielle Heller (2019), Steve McQueen (2018), Kathryn Bigelow (2017), Mira Nair (2016), Guillermo del Toro (2015), Richard Linklater (2014), Philip Kaufman (2013), Kenneth Branagh (2012), Oliver Stone (2011), Walter Salles (2010), Francis Ford Coppola (2009), Mike Leigh (2008), Spike Lee (2007), and Werner Herzog (2006).

The London Film Festival solely thought of eligible movies that have been offered digitally by way of the British Movie Institute’s on-line participant. (That unnoticed such bodily screened movies as Pixar’s “Soul,” “Ammonite,” Regina King’s directorial debut “One Night time in Miami,” Steve McQueen’s “Small Axe” trilogy, and “Nomadland.”) Getting a lift within the Greatest Worldwide Characteristic Oscar race was Greatest Movie winner Thomas Vinterberg’s “One other Spherical,” starring Mads Mikkelsen as a trainer having a midlife disaster who joins his friends in a heavy-drinking binge.

Another Round

“One other Spherical”

Courtesy Cannes Movie Competition

Netflix is supporting festivals in different methods. Amongst different native fests handing out prizes are Mill Valley, which offered awards to a raft of Netflix contenders, together with “The Life Forward” star Sophia Loren (Lifetime Achievement Award), “Da 5 Bloods” Greatest Actor contender Delroy Lindo (Highlight Award), “Ma Rainey’s Black Backside” star Viola Davis (Thoughts the Hole Award) and the “Trial of the Chicago 7” crew together with Sorkin, Redmayne, Cohen, Yahya-Abdul Mateen II and Jeremy Sturdy (Highlight Ensemble Award).

Netflix winners at Middleburg embody Loren (Legacy Tribute Award), Sorkin (Screenwriter Award) and “Ma Rainey’s Black Backside” director George C. Wolfe (Highlight Director Award). And Sorkin landed an October 17 Filmmaker Tribute from Stephen Colbert at his Montclair Competition (October 16-26).

The not too long ago concluded 28th Hamptons International Film Festival (October 8 – 14) additionally offered its awards just about, handing out over $29,500 in money awards and $130,000 in items and providers. Greatest Narrative Characteristic went to Lemohang Jeremiah Mosese’s “That is Not a Burial, It’s a Resurrection,” whereas Alexander Nanau’s “Collective” (November 20, Magnolia Photos/Participant) scored finest Documentary Characteristic. The movie has been submitted by Romania for Greatest Worldwide Characteristic.

Signal Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here